Tchaikovsky + Ballet

15th season logo

  • Date
    Saturday, September 28, 2019
  • Time
    7:30 p.m.
  • Address
    Gershwin Performing Arts Center
    Murrieta Mesa High School
    24801 Monroe Ave
    Murrieta, CA 92562
  • Tel.
    800.595.4TIX (4849)
  • Tickets


Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840 – 1893) composed some of the most beloved music in the world of ballet. The California Chamber Orchestra is excited to renew our collaboration with Academy of Ballet Arts Murrieta to present highlights from The Nutcracker, Swan Lake, and The Sleeping Beauty.

In addition to the ballets, the program features two works for string orchestra inspired by music from the 18th Century. Both include familiar themes recognizable from movies and television.

Tchaikovsky composed his Serenade for Strings in 1880 as a tribute to Mozart. Edvard Grieg’s Holberg Suite includes 18th-century dance themes, and was written for the bicentennial of playwright Ludvig Holberg.


Grieg:                 Holberg Suite for Strings, Op. 40 (21 minutes)

Tchaikovsky:    Highlights from the Ballets (20 minutes)

.                           Serenade for Strings (32 minutes)